Party Time

27 Nov

 

I’ve been thinking a lot, as everyone in the sober blogosphere has it seems with Thanksgiving and Christmas upon us, about parties.

 

Parties are the place where I used to turn up, have 2 or 3 drinks pretty quickly to feel the effect of the alcohol, and then stop drinking. Recently, they’re the place where I’ve got absolutely fucked, excuse my French. Two of my most embarrassing drunken moments of all time have been at wedding parties, where you drink all day, and the house party environment I love because you’re not limited to rounds or by queues at bars and you can top up your alcohol unnoticed whenever you want.

 

This weekend, my flatmate and I are hosting a party. Our summer party was hugely drunken and if I’m honest, very fun, and has become the stuff of legend. I have mixed feelings about having something like a house party so early in my sobriety. On the one hand, it means I’m completely in control of my non-alcoholic drinks, will be able to sneak off to my bedroom to read sober blogs if I get tempted. But on the other, I’ll be surrounded by friends in my own house with a party feeling in my veins and a sense of being in a safe environment that might lure me in to thinking drinking is a good idea. I just got a little thrill writing about it.

 

There’s not much I can do about the party taking place as it was planned before my latest sobriety run and lots of people are coming to town for it, so I’ll have to make sure my guard against wolfie is at its highest ever and that I use every damn thing in my toolkit.

 

It might be fine, I might find the company of friends and a full house and great music is enough to take my mind off drinking, but I doubt it.

 

This will be a big big test, but I think I can do it. 

 

 

7 Responses to “Party Time”

  1. momma bee November 27, 2013 at 4:48 pm #

    I have to admit I am nervous reading your post~ I am not sure I could do that right now… however I am hosting a holiday party next month and I will have no choice but to stay sober….

    The feeling of waking up the morning after the party sober and knowing you did it will be amazing! You will be so fucking proud of yourself. WE all will be proud of you!!

    You can do this…. remember your last post you wrote.

    ” And let’s be honest, who wants another Day 1?”

    Can’t wait to reads all about it.
    Hugs,
    MB

  2. Lilly November 27, 2013 at 9:56 pm #

    I will just second what MB said. If you’d talked about whether to have this party I would have said ‘Oh hell no – why risk it right now?’ But since you are, you CAN stay sober at it if you want to. But I would say you have to really, really get yourself in the right mindset about staying sober being a positive thing, not a deprivation, and have a plan, and plan a reward that you get the next day when you’ve done it too. Also, is there anywhere you could escape off to if it’s all too much? I’m about to write a post about how you can get and stay sober at any time. You can do this. You just have to 100% know drinking will not be an option so now’s the time to remind yourself – really, deeply remind youself – why you are doing this. And think of us awaiting your triumphant news that you did it 🙂 xx

    • FitFatFood November 27, 2013 at 11:03 pm #

      Thanks so much Lilly.

      I was a little worried about publishing this post, because I thought everyone would say “NOOOO! DON’T DO IT!” so I thought it was important that I did in fact post because writing about the party is like a positive visualisation for me.

      It’s not a case of worrying that I’ll be tempted to drink, because at the moment, I have no desire what to drink whatsoever. I’ve been out alot with boozy friends in the past 3 weeks sober and I’ve had more fun sober than I ever would have drunk.

      In terms of cancelling the party, I think I would if I felt even in the least bit shaky. What appeals to me about going through with it while I feel secure is that it’s a social gathering on my terms, where I control my own drinks and to be honest, nobody need even know that my lime and soda isn’t gin and tonic, because there’s no bar and no rounds.

      My big worry is my office Christmas party where my boss will inevitably pressure me to drink. That I’m seriously thinking about getting out of. But it’s in 2 weeks time so I’ll form my plan closer to the time.

      Thanks for the advice and I’ll bear all this in mind. I know I can do it 🙂

  3. momma bee November 28, 2013 at 4:09 pm #

    I know you can do this and so does Lilly…… The rock star feeling when you wake up sober will be amazing!!!! Hugs

    • FitFatFood November 28, 2013 at 4:21 pm #

      Thanks you and yes it will indeedy!

Leave a Reply

The Art of Keeping Going

A blog that's mostly about not drinking.

trufflesfreedom

Starting a life of sobriety and freedom.

waking up, being sober

and trying to make sense of what follows

Off-Dry

Sober girl, loopy world.

Hungry Girl Eats

Notes on the care and feeding of body, mind and spirit.

DominantSoul

The Erotic Art of Sensual Domination

lydia davies

author of 'Raw, the diary of an anorexic'

You Deserve a Donut.

Boo for Eating Disorders.

800 Recovery Hub Blog

Written by people in recovery for people in recovery

My Road To Abstinence

Sober, me? Really?

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

tired of treading water

Ditching the drink and waking up

Shadow. Ash. Spirit. Flame.

Out of Shadow and Ash, Spirit ascends and blazes Light.

The drinking Stops Today

My attempt to quit drinking....

Good Morning Mercies

Seeking beauty and balance overcoming chronic illness and addictions

We Admitted We Were Powerless

A journey of recovery

A Woman Without Wine

If you always do what you’ve always done, you’ll always get what you’ve always got

Mind-Full Mom-E

Being sober & clear headed with a mind that is full!

12 the hard way

ruminations on the twelve steps.

superbly sober

A girl trying to get sober in a boozy world.

Recovering From Powerlessness

A journey of recovery from everything

soberchoices101

One day at a time

nomorewine's Blog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Ditch The Grog Blog

A Quest to Sobriety!

Lucy's New Life

Goodbye booze. Hello clarity, health and happiness.

The Adventures of a Sober Señorita

Follow me as I live la vida loca (but sober)

Party.0

Getting crazy with no consequences!

The Six Year Hangover

A BLOG BY A GAY MAN GETTING SOBER IN NEW YORK CITY.

And Everything Afterwards

How I quit alcohol and discovered the beauty of a sober life

Just A Rock

The trials of a young woman awkwardly trudging her way to happy destiny

Life Unbuzzed

Rowing my sober boat gently down the stream

Alcoholics NON Anonymous

Step 1: POWERLESSNESS is not real.

The Lotus Chronicles

Just like the lotus we too have the ability to rise from the mud, bloom out of the darkness and radiate love and beauty.

Living Free

A fine WordPress.com site

messyarts

lettuce turnip the beet.

Seeing Clear Lee

musings on becoming alcohol-free

Sober at 51

Enough is enough...

The Healing Hobbit

Live life abundantly.

