Wasted Youth

2 Feb

I’m writing this from my childhood bedroom, tucked away from a house full of hangovers.

Last night was my sisters 21st birthday, and she had a big bash for the occasion. I knew I wouldn’t be tempted to drink (thanks, magic of AA that appears to have removed the desire, for now at least!) but that it would be, as the young folk say, “carnage.”

My sister is a huge party animal and an absolute booze hound. She loves getting drunk. She got very drunk very quickly and a lot of the night was spent keeping her upright, in check and placating my family who we’re annoyed with her. Obviously they we’re drunk too. It was proper Irish family stuff with getting drunk being a given. I was watching my dad knock back glasses of prosecco (he had 6 in half an hour) whilst telling my sister to slow down.

So far, so standard dysfunctional family stuff. What joy to be in the midst of big drinkers criticising each other for drinking too much.

What I found the most upsetting was watching my sister and her friends. The sole mission of the night was to get wasted, knocking back bottle after bottle of wine, jaeger bomb after jaeger bomb. The girls were thin, beautiful and dressed immaculately in figure hugging dresses. For the first ohhhhhh 5 or 6 hours of the party all they seemed to do was knock back cheap white and take picture of themselves.

I don’t want to get into a rant about “the youth of today” and the tyranny of the selfie, but it was so sad to watch. They are conditioned to see themselves as pretty little objects, to be preened, posed and posted online to garner as many “likes” as possible.

They didn’t seem to talk or laugh or dance (until they staggered around at 2am on the dance floor), just pose with their iPhones and run to the toilets to touch up their make up.

These girls are SMART. They’re my sisters university friends and one of them is studying aeronautical engineering, for crying out loud. So they’re not airheads. What is it about a night out that reduces them to wine glugging and posing like dolls?

British drinking culture is, if you excuse my French, fucked.

My sister and her friends go to a university which has “Trebles Bars”- where you get three triple shot drinks for five English pounds. They think it’s perfectly normal to order a round each (that’s nine shots of vodka folks) as a prelude to their night out.

Once again I was reminded of the absolutely CRAZY position alcohol occupies in our society. I just get so angry when I observe it, seeing how many people it has affected on the blogs, myself included, and sitting in the rooms of AA.

Mostly, it scares me. Although I was a binge drinker when I went out when I was younger, I was very take it or leave it, and used to stop drinking at 11pm to dance off the booze til 3am. At that point, I genuinely don’t think I had a problem. The issues with booze came for me in my mid-twenties, and of all my friends I was, on the outside at least, the least likely one to turn out an alcoholic.

Because of this, I can’t quite distinguish what is drinking alcoholically and what is Classic British Binging when I watch my sister. Is she going to develop a problem too? Will she, like me, feel the pull of booze incredibly strongly when she comes home from her stressful job and thinks it’s sophisticated to have a glass of wine at home that turns into a bottle? Will she, one day, have to stop entirely?

I don’t know, and I can’t control what happens, so will try to let her be her own person and watch for any warning signs.

So that’s that. I’m going to get myself up, cook everyone a hangover breakfast and get on with my day.

The sky outside is so blue and I’m so bloody grateful to wake up sober.

Happy Sunday!

9 Responses to “Wasted Youth”

  1. Sober Second Half February 2, 2014 at 1:14 pm #

    Isn’t it an amazing gift to wake up without a hangover? I am 26 days sober and still my first thought when I open my eyes in the morning is “do I have a hangover?” And thankfully the answer has been “No!” I truly see it as a gift. Congrats for making it through the party — sounds like it was a real test that you passed with flying colors. It’s interesting– and saddening– now to observe drunk people. I mean, really. What are they doing to themselves? What were we doing to ourselves before we decided to be sober? The last thing I want to be is a preachy teetotaler, but the idea of binge drinking is so abhorrent to me right now that it’s hard not to seem judgmental. Anyway, congrats again and I hope you got big thanks for the greasy breakfast!

    • FitFatFood February 7, 2014 at 8:43 pm #

      A bit late in rpelying to this, but well done on your sober run!

      You must be over a month now?

      Hope you’re still doing well 🙂

  2. soberjournalist February 2, 2014 at 3:07 pm #

    I am fascinated by people who love bingeing so much – yet don’t go on to have a problem. Often they’re very take-it-or-leave it the rest of the time. Strange huh?

    • FitFatFood February 2, 2014 at 6:00 pm #

      It is! The mystery of why alcohol gets some and not others continues to flummox me!

    • momthegr February 5, 2014 at 11:58 pm #

      do these people really exist? in my world they’ve just continued on as heavy boozers … talking people I’ve known since I was 20 and are now in their 40s…just don’t think they have a prob.

      • FitFatFood February 7, 2014 at 8:41 pm #

        It’s interesting isn’t it? How we differ from some heavy drinkers.

  3. sobermalarky February 2, 2014 at 10:38 pm #

    Amazing post. Today someone I know from work posted a video called ‘all aboard the Jaeger train’ – lots of very blingily dressed young women and a bar full length, three deep full, of shots being poured. I am not sure it matters that some of those girls are alcoholics now, or will be in the future, or will never be. It’s a potentially dangerous, addictive drug and abusing it like this should not be seen as socially acceptable and fricking hilarious. It’s a damn shame on all of us.

    • FitFatFood February 7, 2014 at 8:42 pm #

      Sorry for slow reply, a bit behind this week!

      It really upsets me. But the more of us are proud sober role models, the more people there are to look up to, I hope…

  4. lucy2610 February 3, 2014 at 9:42 pm #

    F*cked indeed FFF. Current British drinking culture scares the bejesus out of me to be frank!

Leave a Reply

The Art of Keeping Going

A blog that's mostly about not drinking.

trufflesfreedom

Starting a life of sobriety and freedom.

waking up, being sober

and trying to make sense of what follows

Off-Dry

Sober girl, loopy world.

Hungry Girl Eats

Notes on the care and feeding of body, mind and spirit.

DominantSoul

The Erotic Art of Sensual Domination

lydia davies

author of 'Raw, the diary of an anorexic'

You Deserve a Donut.

Boo for Eating Disorders.

800 Recovery Hub Blog

Written by people in recovery for people in recovery

My Road To Abstinence

Sober, me? Really?

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

tired of treading water

Ditching the drink and waking up

Shadow. Ash. Spirit. Flame.

Out of Shadow and Ash, Spirit ascends and blazes Light.

The drinking Stops Today

My attempt to quit drinking....

Good Morning Mercies

Seeking beauty and balance overcoming chronic illness and addictions

We Admitted We Were Powerless

A journey of recovery

A Woman Without Wine

If you always do what you’ve always done, you’ll always get what you’ve always got

Mind-Full Mom-E

Being sober & clear headed with a mind that is full!

12 the hard way

ruminations on the twelve steps.

superbly sober

A girl trying to get sober in a boozy world.

Recovering From Powerlessness

A journey of recovery from everything

soberchoices101

One day at a time

nomorewine's Blog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Ditch The Grog Blog

A Quest to Sobriety!

Lucy's New Life

Goodbye booze. Hello clarity, health and happiness.

The Adventures of a Sober Señorita

Follow me as I live la vida loca (but sober)

Party.0

Getting crazy with no consequences!

The Six Year Hangover

A BLOG BY A GAY MAN GETTING SOBER IN NEW YORK CITY.

And Everything Afterwards

How I quit alcohol and discovered the beauty of a sober life

Just A Rock

The trials of a young woman awkwardly trudging her way to happy destiny

Life Unbuzzed

Rowing my sober boat gently down the stream

Alcoholics NON Anonymous

Step 1: POWERLESSNESS is not real.

The Lotus Chronicles

Just like the lotus we too have the ability to rise from the mud, bloom out of the darkness and radiate love and beauty.

Living Free

A fine WordPress.com site

messyarts

lettuce turnip the beet.

Seeing Clear Lee

musings on becoming alcohol-free

Sober at 51

Enough is enough...

The Healing Hobbit

Live life abundantly.

