Made It

1 Mar

20140301-091746.jpg

I made it through that super-dooper-whopping craving. Thank God.

I reread old blog posts to remind me how miserable drinking makes me and how much I wanted a fresh start in my new home.

I’m so glad I just kept the thought of “tomorrow” in mind through the craving.

I deployed every tool in my sober toolbox and it worked. I’m going to plan a super big treat for getting through this week, with the job instability and the house move, sober.

Happy Saturday!

14 Responses to “Made It”

  1. BirdoMcD March 1, 2014 at 11:24 am #

    oh well done, amazing! what a rollercoaster you have been on in the last week. and it sounds like having the blog to keep looking back on has been a real anchor for you. a while ago you commented that you felt self-indulgent sometimes for blogging, but I hope this now gives you a different and kinder perspective on it.
    you are doing great, and it sounds like this move could get rid of some baggage that’s been hanging around in the background…
    keep going 🙂

    • FitFatFood March 1, 2014 at 12:00 pm #

      Thanks so much. You’re absolutely right, it has been a real anchor. Thank goodness I have a way of remembering how bad it was. I’m sitting in chaos with half unpacked boxes feeling overwhelmed, so I’ll be kind to myself today. My new flat has a BATH! Planning to make the most of that later 🙂

  2. authorgmst March 1, 2014 at 12:52 pm #

    Congrats on getting through a stressful week and being so strong. I’ll becoming back to read this this post if I start to struggle. Keep up the good work 🙂

  3. wren1450 March 1, 2014 at 1:42 pm #

    Yea! Good for you! I think it’s wonderful you are starting your new life in a new apartment as a new you!

  4. soberlearning March 1, 2014 at 2:41 pm #

    Great job on staying strong!! Life changes are always hard, but rewarding, especially if you can see them in a sober light.
    Way to go 🙂

    • FitFatFood March 1, 2014 at 3:58 pm #

      Thank you- it was scarily hard. But another experience banked…

  5. Vodka Goggles March 1, 2014 at 8:11 pm #

    I knew you could do it!!! You are a sober star!

  6. girlonthelearn March 2, 2014 at 1:16 am #

    You are so much stronger now that you successfully navigated that craving and all that stress without giving in! Imagine if you had caved and drank how you would have added to your stress in the long run; instead, you prevailed!! You should feel very proud of yourself and get an extra reward. Big round of applause, bells and whistles from me! xo

    • FitFatFood March 2, 2014 at 8:04 am #

      Thanks lady. A big treat is in store this weekend!

  7. Glenn March 2, 2014 at 2:39 am #

    I just caught up on your past few entries. That was some tense reading.

    Instability has always been tough on me in sobriety. I like structure, routine, assuredness… it has a lot to do with control, no lie. It is, however, control over my body and mind that I truly desire in sobriety as opposed to control over environment and others actions that I desired while active in addiction. Learning to “move like water” and to embrace and accept change in life has been an ongoing process.

    The point of all of that? While reading your writing I could feel the pull of addiction. I saw myself in your situation and could smell and taste the vodka (my old drink of choice) as awful as it is. I could imagine all the shenaningans I would have, in turn, gotten into in order to keep the buzz alive. If I started drinking again, I don’t know if I could stop.

    Soooo… from one alcoholic to another, I am very proud of you. Your choices made were the right ones for you and that is all you one can ask for. Good on you.

    Keep on keepin’ on and be well.

    • FitFatFood March 2, 2014 at 8:03 am #

      Thank you Glenn. It’s bloody hard, isn’t it?! But I’ve done it, I’m doing it and hope I can continue to do it…

      • Glenn March 2, 2014 at 11:59 pm #

        Whether you believe you can or you can, you’re right.

        You can.

        You will. 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Monday Morning Pages: Progress Made | Sunny Sanguinity - March 3, 2014

    […] night that things are good, mostly because they probably wouldn’t have been that way. I saw a pin on another blog that really struck me today. It said:  Do something today that your future self will thank you […]

Leave a Reply

The Art of Keeping Going

A blog that's mostly about not drinking.

trufflesfreedom

Starting a life of sobriety and freedom.

waking up, being sober

and trying to make sense of what follows

Off-Dry

I got sober. Life got big.

Hungry Girl Eats

Notes on the care and feeding of body, mind and spirit.

DominantSoul

The Erotic Art of Sensual Domination

lydia davies

author of 'Raw, the diary of an anorexic'

You Deserve a Donut.

Boo for Eating Disorders.

800 Recovery Hub Blog

Written by people in recovery for people in recovery

My Road To Abstinence

Sober, me? Really?

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

tired of treading water

Ditching the drink and waking up

Shadow. Ash. Spirit. Flame.

Out of Shadow and Ash, Spirit ascends and blazes Light.

The drinking Stops Today

My attempt to quit drinking....

Good Morning Mercies

Seeking beauty and balance overcoming chronic illness and addictions

sparkly sober

writing my way out of drinking

We Admitted We Were Powerless

A journey of recovery

A Woman Without Wine

If you always do what you’ve always done, you’ll always get what you’ve always got

Mind-Full Mom-E

Being sober & clear headed with a mind that is full!

12 the hard way

ruminations on the twelve steps.

superbly sober

A girl trying to get sober in a boozy world.

Recovering From Powerlessness

A journey of recovery from everything

soberchoices101

One day at a time

nomorewine's Blog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Ditch The Grog Blog

A Quest to Sobriety!

Lucy's New Life

Goodbye booze. Hello clarity, health and happiness.

The Adventures of a Sober Señorita

Follow me as I live la vida loca (but sober)

Party.0

Getting crazy with no consequences!

The Six Year Hangover

A BLOG BY A GAY MAN GETTING SOBER IN NEW YORK CITY.

And Everything Afterwards

How I quit alcohol and discovered the beauty of a sober life

Just A Rock

The trials of a young woman awkwardly trudging her way to happy destiny

Life Unbuzzed

Rowing my sober boat gently down the stream

Alcoholics NON Anonymous

Step 1: POWERLESSNESS is not real.

The Lotus Chronicles

Just like the lotus we too have the ability to rise from the mud, bloom out of the darkness and radiate love and beauty.

Living Free

A fine WordPress.com site

messyarts

lettuce turnip the beet.

Seeing Clear Lee

musings on becoming alcohol-free

Sober at 51

Enough is enough...

