One door closes…

4 Mar

The past week has been mad. What with the house move, the sudden falling through of a job and struggling with cravings, it’s been a true rollercoaster.

But I’m here, sober, and tomorrow will mark 50 days, 7 weeks without a drink. That sounds so little, but is so huge for me. The fact that this is such a big deal is telling, and it’s taken living and breathing recovery to get me here. Every spare moment of the day I’m thinking about it. Working on it and making it my priority.

The recent changes have made me value my sobriety even more.

I’m so happy in my new home. I don’t want to jeopardise that with a drink. It’s like a little haven of relaxation. My bed swallows me up every night and the huge sofa where I snuggle up with my friend gives me the contact and company I’ve been craving.

The job possibilities ahead of me have exploded. I’m now facing a situation where I could get offered 5 jobs, or nothing. Who knows what will happen. I’m in a strong position and it’s very likely I will find myself in a place where I’m choosing the job I want most, that will serve me best, rather than being forced into something just for money. Who knows.

What I do know is that all of this is happening because I’m sober. I’m making it happen.

Sobriety is really bloody hard at the moment, but it’s also bloody worth the struggle.

12 Responses to “One door closes…”

  1. One day at a time March 4, 2014 at 1:41 pm #

    That is fantastic news. So many people have talked about the opportunities that have opened up to them since becoming sober, and here you, proving it yet again. Well done.

  2. soberlearning March 4, 2014 at 1:50 pm #

    50 days is awesome! Congratulations! Keep up the good work. You have proven to yourself and all of us that stress, and chaos are no reason to pick up that first drink.
    Good luck on the jobs, I hope one comes through for you!
    Stay strong!!

  3. lucy2610 March 4, 2014 at 3:48 pm #

    Feast or famine huh? It’s so great when we can see the rewards of our efforts and 50 days is a big deal in anyone’s books so huge congratulations from me 🙂

  4. momma bee March 4, 2014 at 5:46 pm #

    Awesome, it is hard but so worth it. Your hard work is paying off and don’t lose sight! 50 Days is fab~ treat yourself to a lil something!

  5. paula spencer March 4, 2014 at 6:23 pm #

    My fingers are crossed for you as far as the job situation.

    Congrats on 50 days! Good things are coming!

  6. Vodka Goggles March 4, 2014 at 6:49 pm #

    You sound so happy and content. This post just screams confidence. I love it!

  7. Birdo March 4, 2014 at 10:01 pm #

    Just to put it in context, you’ve made it for ten days longer than Jesus was tempted by the devil with pancakes in the desert.
    You. Are. Awesome. Keep going hon! x

  8. carrieonsober March 4, 2014 at 10:32 pm #

    Yay for day 50!!
    So pleased for you. Keeping my fingers crossed for you on the work front, new pad sounds like it’s just what you need right now.
    Good for you xx

  9. themiracleisaroundthecorner March 4, 2014 at 11:35 pm #

    Happy 7 weeks, it does NOT sound like on a little time, it sounds MONUMENTAL! I can’t wait to read where you land with your employment, good luck!

  10. soberjournalist March 4, 2014 at 11:51 pm #

    Wow! Very excited to hear what happens on the job front. Glad the move went well x

  11. nomorewine4me March 5, 2014 at 4:56 am #

    Hurrah for you, 50 days is awesome!

  12. Chris H March 5, 2014 at 6:42 am #

    All good to hear.

Leave a Reply

The Art of Keeping Going

A blog that's mostly about not drinking.

trufflesfreedom

Starting a life of sobriety and freedom.

waking up, being sober

and trying to make sense of what follows

Off-Dry

I got sober. Life got big.

Hungry Girl Eats

Notes on the care and feeding of body, mind and spirit.

DominantSoul

The Erotic Art of Sensual Domination

lydia davies

author of 'Raw, the diary of an anorexic'

800 Recovery Hub Blog

Written by people in recovery for people in recovery

My Road To Abstinence

Sober, me? Really?

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

tired of treading water

Ditching the drink and waking up

Shadow. Ash. Spirit. Flame.

Out of Shadow and Ash, Spirit ascends and blazes Light.

The drinking Stops Today

My attempt to quit drinking....

Good Morning Mercies

Seeking beauty and balance overcoming chronic illness and addictions

sparkly sober

writing my way out of drinking

We Admitted We Were Powerless

A journey of recovery

A Woman Without Wine

If you always do what you’ve always done, you’ll always get what you’ve always got

Mind-Full Mom-E

Being sober & clear headed with a mind that is full!

12 the hard way

ruminations on the twelve steps.

superbly sober

A girl trying to get sober in a boozy world.

Recovering From Powerlessness

A journey of recovery from everything

soberchoices101

One day at a time

nomorewine's Blog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Ditch The Grog Blog

A Quest to Sobriety!

Lucy's New Life

Goodbye booze. Hello clarity, health and happiness.

The Adventures of a Sober Señorita

Follow me as I live la vida loca (but sober)

Party.0

Getting crazy with no consequences!

The Six Year Hangover

A BLOG BY A GAY MAN GETTING SOBER IN NEW YORK CITY.

And Everything Afterwards

How I quit alcohol and discovered the beauty of a sober life

Just A Rock

The trials of a young woman awkwardly trudging her way to happy destiny

Life Unbuzzed

Rowing my sober boat gently down the stream

Alcoholics NON Anonymous

Step 1: POWERLESSNESS is not real.

The Lotus Chronicles

Just like the lotus we too have the ability to rise from the mud, bloom out of the darkness and radiate love and beauty.

Living Free

A fine WordPress.com site

messyarts

lettuce turnip the beet.

Seeing Clear Lee

musings on becoming alcohol-free

Sober at 51

Enough is enough...

