Day 2

2 Sep

This is the best! I feel great! I’m never goin to fall into bad habits again! Sound familiar?

As I woke up this morning, I checked my sobriety app (229 days) and my 21 Day Challenge app. I looked at the measly number 2 there, and my “cycle of day 1s” when I was drinking came back to me. That feeling that you don’t have any significant time under your belt, you’ve got less to lose, so starting over isn’t a big deal. You feel so great, you convince yourself there was never a problem in the first place…

It’s so easy to fall into self sabotage when you can’t feel any tangible fruits of your labours. Like the deeper spiritual and emotional shifts that come with time. Before I knew I had a drinking problem that was serious, I’d go through the same cycle over and over again. Drink bottle of wine, feel shit and depressed, have 2-3 days off, feel normal again and think there was no harm in drinking again. It was only when I started attempting longer stretches of sobriety that I realised the huge benefits of sticking with it beyond those first few painful weeks. But I don’t like emotional pain. I like to be soothed. Immediately.

What will happen when I taKe away my other destructive behaviour?

It’s not rocket science, what I’m trying to do here, to kick a bad sugar habit, but in some senses it’s as important as my sobriety. Because when you take weight or health out of the equation, you’re left with the same root problem that fuelled my drinking: managing my emotions.

Thankfully, I have fewer emotions to manage these days. Fewer perhaps is the wrong word. Less extreme. Less painful. Less likely to swing so dramatically between extremes it knocks me sideways.

Today, I’m sleep deprived, under a lot of work pressure and in desperate need of some “me” time. This is classic “fall into a cappuccino and illicit mid afternoon chocolate bar” territory. I’m going to have my (second!) morning coffee, but will focus on a well balanced satisfying lunch. Not the usual protein + a few salad leaves nonsense. Something that actually nourishes me and makes me feel good. It’s the food version of self care. If I deprive myself of it, I binge. See the parallels?

As I mentioned yesterday, I’m trying to carve out some more time for writing. For me, reflection is growth. It’s my emotional yardstick. When I look back at some of my posts when I was drinking, I barely recognise the person contained within them. When I struggle nowadays, reading one of those anguished entries makes me grateful for how far I’ve come. Hopefully blogging through this 21 day challenge will help in a similar way.

Happy Tuesday lovely blogging friends.

3 Responses to “Day 2”

  1. Annie September 2, 2014 at 8:59 am #

    Hello! I’ve been reading through your earlier posts, one a day, as it helps me with my own progress (or lack of it sometimes). Only on Day 3 here, but it does feel different now I’m blogging, and I’m certainly finding it helpful to write a post every day, at least for the moment. Keep going with your 21 day challenge! Annie x

  2. primrose September 2, 2014 at 12:37 pm #

    I remember first reading the term ’emotional sobriety’ on your blog and reading up on it and finding the concept so useful. in particular the idea of releasing ourselves from our dependence on tangible things, on people and circumstances to achieve contentment.

    it’s nice to have you around a bit more, too! xx

    • FitFatFood September 3, 2014 at 6:16 am #

      It’s a really valuable concept eh? I sometimes forget that drinking is only a very small part of my story- 2-3 years of quickly going downhill vs a lifetime of emotional chaos.

      In fact, I think this should be what I write about today. Thanks prim!

Leave a Reply

The Art of Keeping Going

A blog that's mostly about not drinking.

trufflesfreedom

Starting a life of sobriety and freedom.

waking up, being sober

and trying to make sense of what follows

Off-Dry

I got sober. Life got big.

Hungry Girl Eats

Notes on the care and feeding of body, mind and spirit.

DominantSoul

The Erotic Art of Sensual Domination

lydia davies

author of 'Raw, the diary of an anorexic'

You Deserve a Donut.

Boo for Eating Disorders.

800 Recovery Hub Blog

Written by people in recovery for people in recovery

My Road To Abstinence

Sober, me? Really?

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

tired of treading water

Ditching the drink and waking up

Shadow. Ash. Spirit. Flame.

Out of Shadow and Ash, Spirit ascends and blazes Light.

The drinking Stops Today

My attempt to quit drinking....

Good Morning Mercies

Seeking beauty and balance overcoming chronic illness and addictions

sparkly sober

writing my way out of drinking

We Admitted We Were Powerless

A journey of recovery

A Woman Without Wine

If you always do what you’ve always done, you’ll always get what you’ve always got

Mind-Full Mom-E

Being sober & clear headed with a mind that is full!

12 the hard way

ruminations on the twelve steps.

superbly sober

A girl trying to get sober in a boozy world.

Recovering From Powerlessness

A journey of recovery from everything

soberchoices101

One day at a time

nomorewine's Blog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Ditch The Grog Blog

A Quest to Sobriety!

Lucy's New Life

Goodbye booze. Hello clarity, health and happiness.

The Adventures of a Sober Señorita

Follow me as I live la vida loca (but sober)

Party.0

Getting crazy with no consequences!

The Six Year Hangover

A BLOG BY A GAY MAN GETTING SOBER IN NEW YORK CITY.

And Everything Afterwards

How I quit alcohol and discovered the beauty of a sober life

Just A Rock

The trials of a young woman awkwardly trudging her way to happy destiny

Life Unbuzzed

Rowing my sober boat gently down the stream

Alcoholics NON Anonymous

Step 1: POWERLESSNESS is not real.

The Lotus Chronicles

Just like the lotus we too have the ability to rise from the mud, bloom out of the darkness and radiate love and beauty.

Living Free

A fine WordPress.com site

messyarts

lettuce turnip the beet.

Seeing Clear Lee

musings on becoming alcohol-free

Sober at 51

Enough is enough...

