No Sugar Challenge

16 Feb

One of the most common battles we sober ladies seem to face when we get sober is sugar. “Be kind to yourself” we hear “eat chocolate to beat cravings” and “don’t expect to lose weight in early sobriety.”

All great advice. But what happens, 13 months into sobriety, if you’re using sugar the way you once used alcohol: to soothe, to numb, to lose control.

Since I’ve stopped drinking I’ve (eventually) lost weight, but there’s no denying my sugar habit has got bad. I’ve had brief attempts at keeping it at bay but they haven’t gone to plan- a stressful year has given me lots of excuses as to why isn’t the right moment. And my flatmate is an amateur baking extraordinaire- he always has an array of weekend treats
to derail me.

So I’m going to to try and go sugar free for Lent. 40 days of none of the White stuff. Like drinking, doing a half committed approach to ditching sugar hasn’t worked- it looks like I need to cold turkey to break bad habits and force myself out of the comfort blanket of sweet relief.

I’ve tried challenges like this before and stopped blogging about them when I’ve fallen off the wagon. I want to try and keep myself accountable this time and will try to post here if I’m wrestling a giant craving or having a stand off with a Bounty bar.

Anyone fancy joining me?

Happy Monday!

23 Responses to “No Sugar Challenge”

  1. lucy2610 February 16, 2015 at 2:41 pm #

    I’m in and my blog post declaration of intent goes up on Wednesday!! Sugar free Lent just you and me so far FFF! 😉 xx

    • FitFatFood February 16, 2015 at 3:05 pm #

      Team Sugar Free *pom pom dance*

  2. Sarah February 16, 2015 at 3:48 pm #

    I am tempted but not sure I can do it. Although my weight gain (9kg) since stopping booze 9 months ago is getting me down. When does lent start and finish? I really should know this given I went to a catholic primary school… but not idea.

    • FitFatFood February 16, 2015 at 5:24 pm #

      It starts on Wednesday and lasts 40 days, I have no idea when Easter is this year.

      It’s up to you when is the right moment- I’ve had a few false starts! You’re very welcome to join us 🙂

  3. ainsobriety February 16, 2015 at 4:29 pm #

    I’m not, as my history of disordered eating desperately wants me to, so I know I shouldn’t.

    Just remember- if you have some sugar it is not the end of the world. You aren’t weak or bad. Be willing to acknowledge it and let it go.

    Anne

    • FitFatFood February 16, 2015 at 5:27 pm #

      Good point Anne. And I too have a disordered history of eating so your caution is very well received.

      Like alcohol though I feel it’s unhealthy for my body and mind and that I need to try to reset. We’ll see! I’ll try and post regularly so if you see any warning signals of me going crazy call me on it!

  4. soberp82 February 16, 2015 at 5:50 pm #

    Count me in too! 🙂

    • een February 16, 2015 at 8:38 pm #

      yeah….i’m on day 44 and the sugar monster has arrived. I”m going to consider the ‘less sugar thing’ once I get to 100 days. : )

  5. pp February 17, 2015 at 9:02 am #

    This is exactly what i was thinking this morning, giving up sugar for lent! I have never given anything up…I don’t know why. Is it a Catholic/Protestant thing? I went to a Catholic school and I don’t remember us being told to give something up, though I had friends who were Protestant that did. Funny.
    Anyway, knowing that I can give something up that I never thought I could-alcohol- and listening yesterday to a bubblehour program about all kinds of addictions and the danger of subbing one addiction for another has got me thinking and worrying a bit.
    So I’m with you on your sugar fast. I read your post at the right time.

  6. moretomethanthis February 17, 2015 at 9:29 am #

    I have been struggling with sugar on and off since quitting alcohol, mostly in the form of chocolate, though I have been known to spoon the muscavado straight out of the packet. I also seem to have that once-I-start-I-can’t-stop thing going on, which drives me crazy, because I never used to be like this! I know I use it to deal with stress or upset, to escape and to numb, but somehow that awareness isn’t quite enough to stop. I have to confess though, that the idea of cutting it out entirely is terrifying! For 40 days!! Maybe I can just go for moderation? Is this reaction depressingly familiar?
    Good luck!! xx

    • FitFatFood February 17, 2015 at 9:59 pm #

      That is precisely the path I’ve unsuccessfully tried! Moderation hasn’t worked and yet I was once so moderate. It’s depressing.

      Your muscavado confession made me LOL, that is quite a vision!

      Come join me and Lou in the challenge 🙂

  7. Debbie February 17, 2015 at 6:52 pm #

    I should join you as I have become totally addicted to sugar. I eat a candy bar a night. . . I’ll be with you in spirit. Let me know what works for you so I can steal your ideas and use them when I get the courage to stop the “white stuff”. Good Luck!!!

    • FitFatFood February 17, 2015 at 9:58 pm #

      I will Debbie! Where possible I’ll blog ideas and recipes I hope x

  8. Rusty February 17, 2015 at 9:05 pm #

    Wow – that’s is in interesting challenge for me, but do-able. I’ve been gobbling up cookies at night time with cups of tea. I just picked up a Ninja, not a personal Ninja, but a Ninja Blender to make healthy fruit/veggie smoothies so the timing is ideal.

    Quick question, does your ‘no sugar for lent’ challenge include white bread?

    Rusty

    • FitFatFood February 17, 2015 at 9:57 pm #

      Good question Rusty! I’d imagined it to mean no added or refined sugars. I hadn’t considered bread because I don’t really eat it.

      I think you set your own boundaries of the challenge and as long as it remains a challenge it’s fine!

  9. tiredoftreadingwater February 18, 2015 at 5:52 am #

    I think I need to tackle my coffee monster before I attempt to quit sugar as well. I did read a really interesting book recently that might help though. It’s by Dr Robert Lustig and is called: ‘Fat chance, the hidden truth about sugar, obesity and disease’.

    • FitFatFood February 18, 2015 at 8:18 am #

      Thanks for the tip! And I daren’t even turn my attention towards my coffee drinking…

  10. 365 Reasons February 19, 2015 at 12:35 am #

    I know I replaced alcohol with sugar and carbs. I would order a 16oz coffee with 4 added sugars plus milk. I did quit adding sugar on January first but then started to add 1 after a trip to a country that only had instant (yuck) coffee.

    But replacing alcohol with sugar is why my weight did not drop like I expected with sobriety. Then it did start to drop after quitting soda and added sugar. So I am with you on this challenge. No added sugar, no bagel, no sweets. At least that will be my conditions. Maybe even quit coffee for the 40 days.

    I will start after I finish my apple cobbler.

    • FitFatFood February 19, 2015 at 6:09 pm #

      Coffee?! Are you mad?! 😉 thats the one thing I can’t do…

      • 365 Reasons February 20, 2015 at 2:27 pm #

        As I was driving to work last night, I realized that was a crazy idea. But gonna swear off sugar in my coffee. 🙂

      • FitFatFood February 20, 2015 at 5:18 pm #

        Whoop!

  11. bronnie February 20, 2015 at 10:12 am #

    have just come across your blog and relate to this whole sugar thing all too well. im 16 months sober and am using sugar like alchohol too these days. i feel at a total loss with it all. i get a binge hangover the next day 😦 finding it so hard cause i feel like im not quite an over eater. i keep making excuses that its ok to go over board. i’m ‘good’ for a few day, then f*ck up again. its a cycle, just like the drinking was.. a friend and i are trying 21 days sugar free in march. fingers crossed, that helps.

    • FitFatFood February 20, 2015 at 4:33 pm #

      Welcome to team sugarfree! Its hard and there are many of us struggling. It’s good to know we’re not alone x

Leave a Reply

The Art of Keeping Going

A blog that's mostly about not drinking.

trufflesfreedom

Starting a life of sobriety and freedom.

waking up, being sober

and trying to make sense of what follows

Off-Dry

I got sober. Life got big.

Hungry Girl Eats

Notes on the care and feeding of body, mind and spirit.

DominantSoul

The Erotic Art of Sensual Domination

lydia davies

author of 'Raw, the diary of an anorexic'

You Deserve a Donut.

Boo for Eating Disorders.

800 Recovery Hub Blog

Written by people in recovery for people in recovery

My Road To Abstinence

Sober, me? Really?

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

tired of treading water

Ditching the drink and waking up

Shadow. Ash. Spirit. Flame.

Out of Shadow and Ash, Spirit ascends and blazes Light.

The drinking Stops Today

My attempt to quit drinking....

Good Morning Mercies

Seeking beauty and balance overcoming chronic illness and addictions

sparkly sober

writing my way out of drinking

We Admitted We Were Powerless

A journey of recovery

A Woman Without Wine

If you always do what you’ve always done, you’ll always get what you’ve always got

Mind-Full Mom-E

Being sober & clear headed with a mind that is full!

12 the hard way

ruminations on the twelve steps.

superbly sober

A girl trying to get sober in a boozy world.

Recovering From Powerlessness

A journey of recovery from everything

soberchoices101

One day at a time

nomorewine's Blog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Ditch The Grog Blog

A Quest to Sobriety!

Lucy's New Life

Goodbye booze. Hello clarity, health and happiness.

The Adventures of a Sober Señorita

Follow me as I live la vida loca (but sober)

Party.0

Getting crazy with no consequences!

The Six Year Hangover

A BLOG BY A GAY MAN GETTING SOBER IN NEW YORK CITY.

And Everything Afterwards

How I quit alcohol and discovered the beauty of a sober life

Just A Rock

The trials of a young woman awkwardly trudging her way to happy destiny

Life Unbuzzed

Rowing my sober boat gently down the stream

Alcoholics NON Anonymous

Step 1: POWERLESSNESS is not real.

The Lotus Chronicles

Just like the lotus we too have the ability to rise from the mud, bloom out of the darkness and radiate love and beauty.

Living Free

A fine WordPress.com site

messyarts

lettuce turnip the beet.

Seeing Clear Lee

musings on becoming alcohol-free

Sober at 51

Enough is enough...

