The Sunny Side

21 Feb

Today, I’m 38 days sober.

The sun is shining in the city, it feels a little like spring.

My clothes are feeling a little looser, and I’ve lost a few pounds.

I’m following a tailored nutrition plan for my marathon training a nutritionist I know designed for a slight calorie deficit so I can lose the weight I want, and I feel fantastic. Plenty of food, no deprivation, heaps of energy, strong running.

I slept for 8.5 hours last night and woke up and like I do every morning now I’m sober and thanked god, my higher power, or whatever is out there, for sleep and another sober day.

I’ve applied for a new job, to remind myself there are other options out there, if and when I want them. I’m not dwelling on it, or going to make any dramatic changes, just trying to feel my way towards what I really want.

I’m going to a gig tonight with a friend who’s never really drunk, and will dance my little socks off sober.

I’m feeling happy to be me. Happy to be on the Sunny Side. Not going back to the place where alcohol sucks all light out of life… Not today.

Happy Friday! 

 

6 Responses to “The Sunny Side”

  1. Sober Second Half February 21, 2014 at 12:43 pm #

    I’ve been following your blog for just a little while, but I thought I’d pop in to say “yay!” and “congratulations on day 38!” It sounds like you are doing everything right – stick with it and have fun tonight!

  2. Joan B. February 21, 2014 at 1:59 pm #

    There is glitter all over your posting. I love it! I’m so happy that you are feeling content and “right.” Have fun tonight!

  3. primrosep February 21, 2014 at 7:40 pm #

    have a great evening! glad you are feeling so sunny!

    this post reminded me of a great recipe of Nigella’s called ‘Sunshine Soup’ so here’s a link (if it’ll fit in with your plan) Energy, sleep, and strong running sounds brilliant! xx

    http://thedomesticblonde.com/2011/01/18/sunshine-soup/

    (I use a 500g bag of frozen sweetcorn, and 0.5 – 1litre stock depending on how runny you like it)

  4. Odysseus300 February 22, 2014 at 11:53 am #

    Wonderful, congratulations!

    Stick with it, it gets easier.

  5. Birdo February 23, 2014 at 7:45 pm #

    hope your weekend has continued to be happy! Well done, and thanks for sharing the positive vibes 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. the un-secret « Sober Identity ~ Reprogramming an Addictive Mind - February 23, 2014

    […] Fit Fat Food […]

Leave a comment

The Art of Keeping Going

A blog that's mostly about not drinking.

trufflesfreedom

Starting a life of sobriety and freedom.

waking up, being sober

and trying to make sense of what follows

Off-Dry

I got sober. Life got big.

Hungry Girl Eats

Notes on the care and feeding of body, mind and spirit.

DominantSoul

The Erotic Art of Sensual Domination

Lydia Davies Yoga

Author, Ashtanga Practitioner & Mental health awareness-raiser.

800 Recovery Hub Blog

Written by people in recovery for people in recovery

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

tired of treading water

Ditching the drink and waking up

Shadow. Ash. Spirit. Flame.

Ten years sober, and counting...

The drinking Stops Today

My attempt to quit drinking....

A Dappled Path

Kicking the bottle

Good Morning Mercies

Seeking beauty and balance overcoming chronic illness and addictions

We Admitted We Were Powerless

A journey of recovery

Mind-Full Mom-E

Being sober & clear headed with a mind that is full!

12 the hard way

ruminations on the twelve steps.

Recovering From Powerlessness

A journey of recovery from everything

nomorewine's Blog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Ditch The Grog Blog

A Quest to Sobriety!

Lucy's New Life

Goodbye booze. Hello clarity, health and happiness.

The Adventures of a Sober Señorita

Follow me as I live la vida loca (but sober)

The Six Year Hangover

A BLOG BY A GAY MAN GETTING SOBER IN NEW YORK CITY.

And Everything Afterwards

How I quit alcohol and discovered the beauty of a sober life

Just A Rock

The trials of a young woman awkwardly trudging her way to happy destiny

Life Unbuzzed

Rowing my sober boat gently down the stream

Alcoholics NON Anonymous

Step 1: POWERLESSNESS is not real.

Living Free

A fine WordPress.com site

messyarts

lettuce turnip the beet.

Seeing Clear Lee

musings on becoming alcohol-free

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Recovering Life

Age and alcoholism

365reasons2sober

My blog to help me stop drinking.

Kind Copy

Better writing attracts better clients

No Shame in Asking

A Memoir of Sober Living

aglasshalffullofcheer

90 days sober, a look at the problem of drinking